Blue eyes, baby’s got blue eyes, like a deep blue sea on a blue, blue day

1 Apr

The sweetest thing happened on my journey to work this morning.  Because I was wearing beautiful new shoes, I took the train instead of walking.  The trip itself was uneventful, but when I alighted at the Union Station stop, I struck up a conversation with the DART station agent who looks out for trouble or for travelers needing assistance.

The talk was frothily generic – nice day, do you ride the train often, etc. – but just as we arrived at the crosswalk, she turned to me and said, “Did you know your eyes match your shirt?”

Well, I wasn’t aware of it, but I was wearing a shirt with broad swaths of deep, rich blue and it’s not the first time people have commented on the breathtaking blueness of my eyes.

So I sort of blushed, told her it wasn’t intentional, and thanked her for her kind words.

As I crossed the street to the Morning News building, I sent a silent message heavenward, thanking that higher power  for such a gift.  Had I had any say in the matter, I’d have opted for a longer, thicker penis, but I’m pretty happy with the eyes all the same.

Leave a comment